This website will be undergoing periodic maintenance. If you can't find the information you are looking for, please contact us.

Canadian Fuel News

by Canadian Fuels Association

Congratulations to our 2024 CFA Awards of Excellence recipients! 

 |  Canadian Fuels Association, CFA Awards of Excellence

The third annual Canadian Fuels Association (CFA) Awards of Excellence took place on June 5 at the Rideau Club, bringing together about 100 CFA members, industry leaders, and external guests from across Canada to celebrate the achievements of our members.  

The CFA Awards of Excellence program stands as a beacon of acknowledgment, both honoring and celebrating the remarkable achievements of members who exemplify excellence and recognizing the impact our members have had and will continue to have on the industry and the momentum that is being created by their collaborative efforts.  

The first part of this year’s event focused on recognizing the accomplishment of eight award recipients in seven different categories. One of the categories – The Outstanding Achievement Award – was also renamed the “Françoise Landry CFA Achievement Award” to pay homage to a long-time CFA staff member who passed away last year. Befittingly, The Françoise Landry CFA Achievement Award honors a long-time CFA employee who has significantly contributed to the association and its members through their knowledge, experience, and collaborative efforts.  

It was a pleasure to recognize the recipients in person, surrounded by their peers and industry leaders.  

The 2024 recipients include: 

Chris Vervaet (Canadian Oilseed Processors Association) – Collaboration and Partnership Award 

Jonathan Waye (Irving Oil) – Rising Star Award 

Daniel Goodwin (Suncor) – Committee Member of the Year Award 

Shell Scotford Procedural Automation TeamInnovation Award 

Federated Co-operatives Limited & the Co-operative Retailing System (CRS) Community  
Champion Award 

Life in the HeartlandCommunity Champion Award 

Alison Miller (Imperial Oil) – Lifetime Achievement Award 

Bill Simpkins (CFA) – Françoise Landry CFA Achievement Award 

The second portion of the event featured a fireside chat moderated by CFA’s President & CEO, Bob Larocque on the societal perspectives of energy transition. Mike Cleland, Consultant in Energy and Environment Policy, Tonja Leach, Executive Director at QUEST Canada and Matthew Foss, VP of Research & Public Policy at the Canadian Council for Aboriginal Business joined Bob for this thought-provoking and insightful discussion.  

CFA would like to thank everyone who took the time to attend the 2024 Awards of Excellence. It is an honor to be able to bring members together to recognize their successes and achievements during this memorable and inspiring event and we already look forward to the 2025 CFA Awards of Excellence. 

Download Resources

Stay informed by getting the latest in-depth publications and reports on the fuel industry.

Follow Us

Join us on our social media channels and let’s keep the conversation going.

Join Our Mailing List